FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

Happy Date-iversary

with 3 comments

This is what I made my sweet to celebrate two years together.

Olive you

He sent me roses at work! As best as I can tell, they are the “Fire and Ice” variety – red on the inside and white on the outside. I have no idea what the hybrid varieties symbolize.

‘Tis a strange thing, getting the girliest of girly gifts at a company largely populated by asocial programmers. Can’t say I hated it, though.

Googlerific! “the white rose is usually seen as representing innocence and purity, while the red rose is one of Western culture‘s most prized symbols of romantic love. So, to present a person with a flower that appears to be white with red edging, but in reality is equally divided between white and red, is a tacit way of telling them that you connect with them on a spiritual level, but that there are non-Platonic feelings that run far deeper than they have been acknowledged to run.”

Wow, I hope Jon knows what he got himself into 🙂

Written by Sarah Levantine

March 31, 2008 at 9:57 pm

Posted in My Other Self

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aww very cute and congrats! Is there a story behind the olives? (Does it have anything to do with the ‘Olive Theory’? Because that would be sweet.)

    Jen

    April 1, 2008 at 8:14 am

  2. No, it doesn’t have anything to do with the Olive Theory. We are not much into sitcoms (except for The Office) at all.

    The initial reason I connected with this pattern has to do with the movie The Other Sister, in one particular scene where one of the characters notes that when you mouth the words “olive juice,” it looks like you are saying “I love you.” The rest of the movie is fine, but I loved that moment (and everything that spawned from it).

    I found the pattern on the CRAFT: blog a while back, and was holding on to it for a special occasion. I wanted to put the olives in a canning jar, but couldn’t find one at the last minute, so I picked up a votive that looked like an appetizer dish.

    I think they turned out really well (especially because I was able to use scrap yarn), but I wish I had had the time to make more olives. Each little one took about 45 mins, I think.

    saralah

    April 2, 2008 at 9:32 am

  3. Ah cool – well they look really cool. They’d be a cute thing to add to a martini set gift or something like that.

    Jen

    April 2, 2008 at 6:18 pm


Leave a Reply

