FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

WIP: Coasters

with one comment

Quilted coasters

These things are not turning out exactly like I had hoped. I think I am unskilled at ironing round objects. A handful of them were quilted too close to the edge, and now I can’t turn under the edges. For those, I will bind with bias tape instead, and keep it in mind for next time.

Actually, things will be completely different next time anyway – I’m going to add a layer of interfacing to increase the stability, and I will sew the sandwiches together before I do the quilting.

The one plus: I have gotten a lot of practice with machine quilting since I started this project. On a small scale at least, my Kenmore sewing machine handles it just fine.

Written by Sarah Levantine

March 6, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Posted in Crafts

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm, what if you cut close to the stitch on the circle coasters and just let the -very tiny edges- be rough/fray? And if my comment doesn’t clearly scream it already – I have no sewing/fabric experience.. sooooooo.. perhaps I’m just talkin’ out my bum. Who knows! 😉

    Jenguin

    March 6, 2008 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

