FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

Stitches West

leave a comment »

I went to the Stitches West show in Santa Clara with my mom last Sunday, and while I don’t have any pictures (yet), I can tell you all the awesome stuff I got – pictures after the jump!

My major win of the day was a ball winder and swift, which were cheaper at the show than I’d seen them anywhere else. As soon as I got home, I set them up in the craft guest room and wound a couple of balls (it took a couple of tries to figure out the exact setup and technique).

I also got a few sweater patterns, and a bunch of yarn to make quick-knit things for the store like scarves and hats. Since it was the last day of the show, they were only open until 4:00, and it took us right up until the deadline to work the entire room (“Reminder: DO NOT start tearing down your booth until we announce that the show is officially over” rang repeatedly over the loudspeaker). Mom got some stuff to make a crazy multicolor sweater – not really my taste, but will most likely suit her perfectly when it’s made. She also got the last copy of Fitted Knits at the entire show (after flipping through her copy, I searched every book booth I could find). Now I have to go find it on Amazon.

Finally, I found out about this great charity, Mother Bear Project. You knit or crochet a bear, personalize it however you like, and it gets sent to a child in Africa who could use a hug. The pattern was just $5; how could I not get one? Now to find this mythical “spare time” so I can contribute….

After the show, we stopped at Subway for a bite, and then went to the open house at Angelfish & Co. I sold an apron!! I also got a request for more aprons in the smaller size. I’ll start on that as soon as I get two or three sets of coasters finished.

Dom has Swift Love, too

Written by Sarah Levantine

February 26, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Posted in Outings

Leave a Reply

