FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

Boredom and Creativity

leave a comment »

Today I went with my mom to The Original Creative Festival (ooh, Original!!) at the San Mateo Event Center.  It was smaller than I remember it, maybe because after a while, you start to feel like you've seen it all before.  Oh look, there's the mat-cutting guy…the lady who sells stuffed animal patterns and fake fur…and the lady who sells the sequin patterns and kits to bedazzle your life…  It does get old when you've been to the same expo three or four times before; also when you only were interested in a few things at each show to begin with.  It is so hard to be crafty and fashionable!

The last aisle of the show turned out to be more fruitful than the rest, though – Mom actually bought a sewing machine!  She was already planning on replacing her old Singer, and this thing was awesome.  I won't get into the details, let's just say it was chock full of features, and we both thought it was a good deal.

After that, I found a booth that was selling fabric I actually wanted all over my house.  You know, those super-sleek, abstract floral patterns in bright colors?  Well, I bought enough to make a couple of aprons (which I had already been planning on).  Maybe this will be the beginning of my enterprise.  When I got home, I started looking at online fabric retailers, to see their offerings and prices.  I think, if I sat myself down to do it, I could make a fair bit of money sewing purses and home items (pillows, aprons, etc.) and selling them.  Now I just need to get my sewing machine back from the shop šŸ˜›

Tomorrow's The Big Party (TM), squeee!

Written by Sarah Levantine

November 9, 2007 at 6:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

