FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

NaBloPoMo – Day One

leave a comment »

Let’s see if I’ve bitten off more than I can chew – I just signed up for NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month.  Basically, I have pledged to post every day for the month of November.  Hopefully, the habit will stick (they say it takes a month, right?)

Quite a bit has happened since my last entry.  For one, I don’t work at EA anymore.  I don’t know how much I’m supposed to say about it, so let’s just say that I don’t work there, I think it’s a good thing, and there are already a few prospects on the horizon.  In the meantime, I’m hanging out at home a lot, taking walks, and just getting the rest of my life in order (for the umpteenth time).

Halloween was a very good time this year.  In fact, there’s still more fun to be had – I’ve got another costume party on Friday!

My grand plans for a can-can dancer costume ended in disaster, although I do have some very cute accessories that will work if I want to try again next year.  I was down to the wire with sewing, having procrastinated in general and then made Jon’s costume first.  One hour before what was supposed to be the costume’s big debut, I realized I didn’t have nearly enough time to properly do the ruffles on the petticoat; the hallmark of a can-can dancer.  My idea morphed into more of a saloon girl, which was more in line with Jon’s old-timey bartender costume anyway.  I tried it on, and it fit horribly.  The top and skirt were both too big, and the black fringe on the top combined with the fishnet tights and black granny boots made me look like some sort of fancy-dress, frumpy cowgirl.  Sooo not what I was going for.

Luckily, I had the traditional Bavarian dress – a dirndl – that I had bought in Munich earlier this year.  I hemmed it up real quick to knee length and voila!  Instant Halloween costume.  It even came with a hidden skirt pocket that kept me from having to tote a purse around 🙂

Last Friday, we went to The Haunting Fields in Fremont (http://www.thehauntingfields.com/, for those in Northern California).  I highly recommend this place.  Having been to a fair few haunted houses in the last several years, I wasn’t very excited.  I just needed to get out of the house, and some friends wanted to go.  The fields are composed of five haunted houses and one scary maze (we didn’t try the maze).  There were a lot of things you would expect – bloody scenes, actors that jump out at you, etc.  The first house was actually underwhelmingly average.  After that, we went to one called The Asylum – it had me screaming bloody murder as soon as I walked through the door, and I didn’t stop the whole way through.  The actors were fantastically scary.  I won’t go into the details in case anyone who reads this wants to go; let’s just say that it was completely worth the ticket price and the time/gas to drive to Fremont.

Saturday was a costumed house party hosted by my friends, Snow White and Optimus Prime.  It would have been great, except that I ate a huge burrito and drank Mexican Coke right before putting on my corseted costume, so I was pretty uncomfortable for the first half of the evening.  Notable costumes there were Christmas carolers, Shaun of the Dead, and an angel/devil love child, among more standard fare.

Sunday I went with a group to a…um…Castro-like Halloween party.  I was expecting this, but I was not expecting that my party, and maybe two other people, were the only straight people in the building.  This was fine, because we were going to just hang out with each other anyway.  All the costumes there were Castro-fied, and awesome.  My favorites were the Britney Spears (blonde wig, black bikini top & bottom, black stiletto boots, and two stuffed dolls as children), topless Tick and Arthur, and a handful of blue genies.

Tuesday was pumpkin carving and dinner at Ken & Bev’s house.  I made a Jack o’ Lantern, had yummy chicken and pomegranate cocktails, and came home with some peanut butter cup cupcakes and a bag of pumpkin seeds for roasting!  Nice and relaxing, except for that pesky earthquake thing.

Yesterday I crashed the EA costume party to get another look at Optimus Prime (which was awesome, if I haven’t mentioned it yet).  He of course won the men’s competition, which is a pity, because another good friend was entered as Master Chef (Halo players will get it; pictures, coming soon, help).  The female winner was the patient from the Operation board game.  After the party had died down, we headed to O’Neill’s for some beers, people-watching, and Wednesday night pub quiz.  Because of Halloween, and because I got there so early (about 5:45), the bar was filled at first with extra-douchey happy hour drunk suits, but they faded away as I quietly sat in the back, waiting for my friends to get off work and meet me.  I had my knitting with me, so they were pretty easy to ignore.  Long story short, we ended up with a party of 8, ate a bunch of chocolate and pumpkin seeds, drank a bunch of Guinness, came in fifth place in the quiz, and went home.

Wow, quite a catch-up post there.  Hopefully pictures will be up soon, and hopefully I didn’t blow my NaBloPoMo load on this one mega-update.  See you tomorrow!

Written by Sarah Levantine

November 1, 2007 at 12:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

