FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

Labor Day

leave a comment »

I took this year's Labor Day as a personal rebirth (get it? Labor Day?!). As happens with so many people, after moving in with The Boy, certain things have fallen by the wayside. I can't quite figure out where it happened, but I gained back the weight I had lost before the move, and keeping up on the housekeeping and cooking has become more cumbersome than I wanted it to be. I took the weekend to straighten my head out and get back on track.

As far as the weight gain goes, it makes sense to start at the point where I had initially lost weight. I had picked up a book from Borders called French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure. It was fantastic. The author teaches you how to really appreciate food, emphasizing quality over quantity and cooking for the seasons. I backed off from going to the gym as much (went from four classes a week to two), and happily lost 8 pounds by just paying attention and enjoying my meals.

Somewhere in there, over time, I fell back into my old habits of eating whatever looked tasty when I was out to lunch. I fell to the indirect pressure of watching my coworkers indulge in cheeseburgers and french fries. Dinners were still healthy (yay for home cooking!), but my portions fell out of whack. I felt compelled to keep eating as long as Jon was eating, regardless of how full I actually was. As for exercise, I did get back into spinning and took up yoga, but I still felt gross, and the scale agreed.

Saturday morning when Jon was in the shower (and on a normal day I would have stayed in bed until he was done), I got up and started doing some core exercises. Not a full workout in any sense, but it still got me going for the day. Some abs, push-ups, and back work in the morning seems doable. It will keep my head in the right space, thinking about improving the state of my body without punishing it. I've finished this set every day since, making it four days in a row. They say it takes one month to make a habit out of anything; we'll see 🙂

On the food side, I re-read the first half of the book. It reminded me what I need to pay attention to, and got me re-inspired to really appreciate the food I eat while it blesses my body. The trick here will be making sure the meals I cook are still enough to satisfy The Boy.

I'm still working on how to get more energy to maintain the house. It seems to really come in fits and spurts. I have my little GTD setup in the kitchen, I just need to pay attention to it some more (is there a recurring theme here?). I think I'll take a page from the FlyLady book and do this 15 minutes at a time.

Written by Sarah Levantine

September 4, 2007 at 10:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

