FutureSarah

Sewing, knitting, whatever….

Beta and beyond

leave a comment »

We are one week to our Beta milestone – the loose definition of which is our first build with 0 bugs.  I currently sit with just one bug on my plate, and a minor one at that.  I am not what you would call an industry vet or anything, but in my 6 years, I have *never* been on a project that's gone this easily.  Thank god, though – after two years doing online programming for Tiger, I seriously needed an easy project.

We've begun discussing where we would like to be assigned after the project finishes (should be mid-September), and I think it's time for me to start exploring other career paths within the game industry.  I'm still trying to wrap my head around the subtle differences between what they call a Producer here, and what they call Development Director.  Supposedly, the Producer handles the building of the game, and the Director handles the building of the software.  In practice, though, there is so much overlap between the two, it's hard to tell which one I'd rather try first.

I think I always knew that I didn't want to be a programmer forever.  There are people who are born to be programmers (Jon is one), who work all day at a computer and then come home only to play on their own side programming projects.  It's just not me.  I do my work, try and concentrate on the fun I'm creating by building this game, go home, and do something completely different.  I knit, cook, bake, sometimes play games, whatever it takes to get the programming out of my head.  It's always been that sense of creating fun that kept me going.  I think through one of these other career paths within the industry, I can get that same sense without actually programming.  I imagine a day where I might turn on the computer at home to do some hobbyist programming here and there, and really enjoying myself because I'm not completely burned out on it at work.

Whoops, looks like another bug just came in.  Time to get back to work 🙂

Written by Sarah Levantine

August 15, 2007 at 11:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

